|
|
|
date: Mon, 10 Apr 2006 06:12:02 -0700,
group: microsoft.public.exchange2000.general
back
Re: NDR for unknown email
In news:9E49EFC1-721C-429C-9C47-CC11D88BE383@microsoft.com,
ace95hockey <ace95hockey@news.postalias> typed:
> The email address is an smtp address jblake5@ibm.net. The email
> headers I was looking at were from the NDR. I thought that it may be
> a user who has their email forwarded to an Internet address. I have
> searched through ADUC and have not been able to find anything that
> listed that smtp address. Is there any way to determine if a user
> has such a rule
I don't know how you could do that from the server, using built in tools -
mdbvue?
> and how can I prevent forwarding to the Internet
Someone must've enabled it, as it's disabled by default. In ESM, go to
Global Settings\Internet Message Formats\<properties of default or whatever
you've got in there> - advanced tab, and see what's ticked/unticked at the
bottom. Also make sure autoreply is disabled.
>
> Thanks
> ACE
>
> "Lee Li [MSFT]" wrote:
>
>> Hi ACE,
>>
>> Thanks for posting here. Great Info, Lanwench!
>>
>> According to your description, I am afraid I am not clear what
>> Internet Address is. Do you mean a SMTP address like
>> postmaster@domain.com? In order to have a more concrete idea about
>> this issue, please let us know the exact Internet Address.
>>
>> Meanwhile, I do agree with Lanwench that if one of the members in
>> the list has a Forwarding Rule to forward mails to an Internet
>> Address, the NDR will be returned to you if the Internet Address is
>> not available.
>>
>> Please let us know information so that we can provide further
>> assistance. Thanks and have a nice day!
>>
>> Lee Li
>>
>> Microsoft Online Partner Support
>>
>> Get Secure! - www.microsoft.com/security
>>
>> =====================================================
>> When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via your
>> newsreader so that others may learn and benefit from your issue.
>> =====================================================
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>> rights.
date: Tue, 11 Apr 2006 11:49:58 -0400
author: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]
Re: NDR for unknown email
They group before me has opened everything up under those options to allow
auto replies and auto forwards. I doubt I will be able to remove these
settings now without a fight but I would really like to at least find the
account that is forwarding to a non-existent account. Any information or
tools would help.
Thanks
ACE
"Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]" wrote:
>
>
> In news:9E49EFC1-721C-429C-9C47-CC11D88BE383@microsoft.com,
> ace95hockey <ace95hockey@news.postalias> typed:
> > The email address is an smtp address jblake5@ibm.net. The email
> > headers I was looking at were from the NDR. I thought that it may be
> > a user who has their email forwarded to an Internet address. I have
> > searched through ADUC and have not been able to find anything that
> > listed that smtp address. Is there any way to determine if a user
> > has such a rule
>
> I don't know how you could do that from the server, using built in tools -
> mdbvue?
>
> > and how can I prevent forwarding to the Internet
>
> Someone must've enabled it, as it's disabled by default. In ESM, go to
> Global Settings\Internet Message Formats\<properties of default or whatever
> you've got in there> - advanced tab, and see what's ticked/unticked at the
> bottom. Also make sure autoreply is disabled.
> >
> > Thanks
> > ACE
> >
> > "Lee Li [MSFT]" wrote:
> >
> >> Hi ACE,
> >>
> >> Thanks for posting here. Great Info, Lanwench!
> >>
> >> According to your description, I am afraid I am not clear what
> >> Internet Address is. Do you mean a SMTP address like
> >> postmaster@domain.com? In order to have a more concrete idea about
> >> this issue, please let us know the exact Internet Address.
> >>
> >> Meanwhile, I do agree with Lanwench that if one of the members in
> >> the list has a Forwarding Rule to forward mails to an Internet
> >> Address, the NDR will be returned to you if the Internet Address is
> >> not available.
> >>
> >> Please let us know information so that we can provide further
> >> assistance. Thanks and have a nice day!
> >>
> >> Lee Li
> >>
> >> Microsoft Online Partner Support
> >>
> >> Get Secure! - www.microsoft.com/security
> >>
> >> =====================================================
> >> When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via your
> >> newsreader so that others may learn and benefit from your issue.
> >> =====================================================
> >> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> >> rights.
>
>
>
date: Tue, 11 Apr 2006 11:33:02 -0700
author: ace95hockey alias
Re: NDR for unknown email
In news:39DC8D2D-AD8A-44B8-88F6-50BF04E215AD@microsoft.com,
ace95hockey <ace95hockey@news.postalias> typed:
> They group before me has opened everything up under those options to
> allow auto replies and auto forwards. I doubt I will be able to
> remove these settings now without a fight but I would really like to
> at least find the account that is forwarding to a non-existent
> account. Any information or tools would help.
I don't know how you'll be able to do that easily, unless you disable the
settings that the group before you (quite foolishly) opened up, and see who
complains.
Re the fight - explain to the powers that be that autoreply, especially, is
*really* dangerous, as it could bring a mighty server to its knees....think
about what happens when autoreply meets autoreply. I don't see the need for
autoforward. If a user needs something forwarded, and management doesn't
mind, I set it up with a contact.
>
> Thanks
> ACE
>
> "Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]" wrote:
>
>>
>>
>> In news:9E49EFC1-721C-429C-9C47-CC11D88BE383@microsoft.com,
>> ace95hockey <ace95hockey@news.postalias> typed:
>>> The email address is an smtp address jblake5@ibm.net. The email
>>> headers I was looking at were from the NDR. I thought that it may
>>> be a user who has their email forwarded to an Internet address. I
>>> have searched through ADUC and have not been able to find anything
>>> that listed that smtp address. Is there any way to determine if a
>>> user has such a rule
>>
>> I don't know how you could do that from the server, using built in
>> tools - mdbvue?
>>
>>> and how can I prevent forwarding to the Internet
>>
>> Someone must've enabled it, as it's disabled by default. In ESM, go
>> to Global Settings\Internet Message Formats\<properties of default
>> or whatever you've got in there> - advanced tab, and see what's
>> ticked/unticked at the bottom. Also make sure autoreply is disabled.
>>>
>>> Thanks
>>> ACE
>>>
>>> "Lee Li [MSFT]" wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi ACE,
>>>>
>>>> Thanks for posting here. Great Info, Lanwench!
>>>>
>>>> According to your description, I am afraid I am not clear what
>>>> Internet Address is. Do you mean a SMTP address like
>>>> postmaster@domain.com? In order to have a more concrete idea about
>>>> this issue, please let us know the exact Internet Address.
>>>>
>>>> Meanwhile, I do agree with Lanwench that if one of the members in
>>>> the list has a Forwarding Rule to forward mails to an Internet
>>>> Address, the NDR will be returned to you if the Internet Address is
>>>> not available.
>>>>
>>>> Please let us know information so that we can provide further
>>>> assistance. Thanks and have a nice day!
>>>>
>>>> Lee Li
>>>>
>>>> Microsoft Online Partner Support
>>>>
>>>> Get Secure! - www.microsoft.com/security
>>>>
>>>> =====================================================
>>>> When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via your
>>>> newsreader so that others may learn and benefit from your issue.
>>>> =====================================================
>>>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>>>> rights.
date: Tue, 11 Apr 2006 22:56:29 -0400
author: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]
Re: NDR for unknown email
Hi ACE,
I suggest you enable message tracking to check the mail and NDR. Here are
the detailed steps of enabling message tracking:
1. Start Exchange System Manager.
2. Right click the server on which you intend to enable tracking. and then
click Properties.
3. On the General tab, click to select the Enable Message Tracking check
box, and then click to select the Enable subject logging and display check
box.
4. Ensure that the log file maintenance information suits the needs for
logging. NOTE: By default, log files older than seven days are deleted.
After that, reproduce the issue, and then check all the messages in message
tracking center. I suppose you should find the mail which is sent to
jblake5@ibm.net and then you can know the sender.
Hope it helps. Have a good day.
Sincerely,
John Chen, MCSE, MCSA, MCDBA, MCSD
Microsoft Online Partner Support
Get Secure! - www.microsoft.com/security
=====================================================
When responding to posts, please "Reply to Group" via
your newsreader so that others may learn and benefit
from your issue.
=====================================================
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
date: Wed, 12 Apr 2006 13:23:42 GMT
author: (John Chen [MSFT])
|
|